Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Mark Langford


Born: 1957


Mark Edward Langford was born in Takaka in 1957 and educated at Nelson College. He attended the Wellington Polytechnic Executant Music Course, majoring in piano, and Victoria University of Wellington from 1978-81, graduating BMus (Hons) in composition. He was organist in several churches in Nelson and Wellington in the 60s and 70s before moving to Europe in 1982 to study digital and analogue music at the Institute of Sonology, Utrecht. Langford returned to NZ in 1983, where he has tutored in Harmony at Victoria University of Wellington and worked at the National Library.

Composed (13)

...But It Only Makes A Small Shadow

for gamelan, three male choirs and percussion, 6m

Declining the Naked Horse

for mezzo-soprano and flute, 3m

Ich hab' nur eine Minute

for soprano, cello, two actors and string orchestra, 1m

Interpolations 1

for orchestra, 5m

Mostly In B-Flat

for piano and electric violin, 4m

Piglet's Lament

for clarinet, vibraphone and piano, 4m

the night of the sweet potato pullers

for clarinet, accordion, violin, two violas and double bass

The Poets Agree To Be Quiet By The Swamp

for a vocal ensemble of twelve singers, 2m

Tutanekai Whets his Whistle

for solo flute, 5m

When Owls Do Cry

for clarinet, piano and percussion, 16m