Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Aotearoa Plus
SOUNZ Virtual Concert

All of these works were inspired by the land and people of Aotearoa.Anthony Ritchie’s ‘Albatross in Flight’ genesis came from the sight of an albatross gliding in strong currents at Tairoa Head. Michael and Gareth’s works were both part of a series of commissions by the NZSO marking the 250th anniversary of the arrival of Captain Cook.

‘Mātauranga (Rerenga)’ by Michael Norris evokes the cultural collision between Cook and local iwi by integrating ngā taonga pūoro with the orchestra.

‘He Iwi Tahi Tātou’ is Gareth Farr’s “reaction…to the unique cultural energy that makes this country what it is – and my belief in the words ‘He iwi tahi tātou’ [‘We are all one people’].”

‘The Glittering Hosts of Heaven’ by Eve de Castro-Robinson sums up the universal sense of wonder we have when contemplating the physical vastness of space. The seven soloists represent the Seven Sisters of the Pleiades.

At Matariki there is renewed respect for the land. Commissioned by the NZSO in 2013.

Guest curator: Hamish McKeich & Bridget Douglas | NZSO

Aotearoa Plus - SOUNZ virtual concert

Programme | Hōtaka

Anthony RitchieAlbatross in Flight
Performed by the NZSO, conducted by Marc Taddei

Michael NorrisMātauranga (Rerenga)
Performed by the NZSO, with Alistair Fraser (taonga puoro), conducted by Carlos Kalmar

Gareth Farr: He Iwi Tahi Tātou
Performed by the NZSO, conducted by Miguel Harth-Bedoya

Eve de Castro RobinsonThe Glittering Hosts of Heaven
Performed by the NZSO, conducted by Pietari Inkinen, with soloists: Bridget Douglas (flute), Philip Green (clarinet), David Bremner (trombone), Leonard Sakofsky (vibraphone), Vesa-Matti Leppänen (violin), Julia Joyce (viola) and Andrew Joyce (cello)

Approximate running time | Te roa: 50 minutes