Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

SOUNZ Virtual Concert

These three pieces present an ambitious and unique blending of styles and cultural traditions. Philip Brownlee and Ariana Tikao collaborated to create ‘Ko the tātai whetū’, presented here in the version for taonga pūoro and ensemble. Michael Norris’s ‘Sygyt' is likely the first concerto for throat-singer, while Callum Allardice’s ‘A gathering’ combines jazz ensemble The Jac with Black String, a group including traditional Korean instruments and electric guitar.

 Programme | Hōtaka 

Philip Brownlee and Ariana Tikao: Ko te tātai whetū
Performed by Ariana Tikao and Alistair Fraser (taonga puoro) with Stroma, conducted by Hamish McKeich

Michael Norris: Sygyt 
Performed by Jonny Marks (throat singer) with Stroma, conducted by Mark Carter

Callum Allardice: A Gathering
Performed by The Jac and Black String

Approximate running time: 46 minutes