Sub Navigation


09' 00"


application/force-download,119k Score (119k) pages 1 - 4© Anthony Ritchie

External Media on Demand

Programme Note

Dedicated to Sir Robert Jones on the occasion of his birthday. Commissioned by Frances Jones and Rod Gethen, November 2013.

This trio was written for players Sophia Acheson, viola, Kate Oswin, cello, and Heather Lewis, violin, divided into slow and fast sections, which are related thematically. The slow section is expressive and moody, and contrasts with the up-beat fast section. A quiet chorale idea interrupts the action towards the end, before the quick music returns to round off the piece. The music is not programmatic and can be interpreted as one wishes.

Performance History

29 Nov 2013 Performed by Kate Oswin (violin), Sophia Acheson (viola) and Heather Lewis.
03 Feb 2015 Performed by the Ying Quartet at Chapel of Christ at the Lake in St. Arnaud, in Nelson.
05 Feb 2015 Performed by members of the Ying Quartet at Old St John’s, in Nelson.


Shopping Cart