Sub Navigation


Main picture for
  • Chris Adams

  • Born: 1979
  • Fully Represented SOUNZ Composer


Chris Adams (1979-) is a New Zealand composer and is the Head of Music at King’s College, Auckland. He was the Mozart Fellow (2010-2011) at the University of Otago and the Auckland Philharmonia’s Composer in Residence (2009). Chris was the inaugural University of Otago Wallace Arts Trust Artist in Residence at the Pah Homestead from July to September, 2010, a position he held again in 2011. He has since worked with the Auckland Philharmonia on a new orchestral work and represented New Zealand at the 2016 Asian Composers’ League with his Contemporary Triptych.

Chris has had works commissioned, performed and read by a wide variety of groups including the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, NZ Trio, Auckland Philharmonia, Auckland Chamber Orchestra, Jade String Quartet, and Southern Sinfonia. His works have been performed around New Zealand and in Australia, Italy, and Britain, including at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival; a number have also been broadcast on Radio New Zealand Concert. Composition awards include the Philip Neill Memorial Prize (2008), for his string quartet, Persephone.

Source: Chris Adams, October 2014. Updated by SOUNZ, January 2017.

Selected Works

Anastasis for full orchestra  
Art Miniatures for flute and piano  
Clarinet Quartet - The Liberation of Mr Norris for four clarinets  
Flight - Lost in an urban(e) jungle for solo E flat clarinet  
Jekyll Rat for piano trio  
Mad Cow-Farmer's Disease for chamber nonet  
Persephone for string quartet  
Postcards from Eden for chamber ensemble of twelve players  
Release for violin and piano  
Viola Sonata for Helen for viola and piano  


Shopping Cart