Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Errigal Suite

for traditional Irish musician (variable) and two guitars, or guitar quartet

Year:  2007   ·  Duration:  15m

Year:  2007
Duration:  15m

Dave Flynn

Composer:   Dave Flynn

Films, Audio & Samples

Dave Flynn: Errigal Suite —...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


Errigal Suite is a continuous suite in 6 parts for 2 guitars and a traditional Irish musician as soloist. In the premiere it was another guitarist (Clive Carroll) but it can conceivably be played on any traditional instrument with chromatic capabilities.

Errigal is a beautiful mountain in the heart of the Donegal Irish speaking Gaeltacht area. It was the location for the Frankie Kennedy Winter School which I attended on many occasions.

The music is thus strongly inspired by Donegal fiddle music. It is dedicated to the memory of the great Donegal fiddler John Doherty.

Each part of the suite is based on a traditional dance form common to Donegal, except for the fifth part which is a classical guitar cadenza based on the final reel which closes the suite.

I dedicated this last reel to the great Donegal piano accordionist Martin Tourish. It is called ‘Tourish’s Tour Around the Box.’

The work is also available as a guitar quartet version.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Temple Bar Cultural Trust.

Contents note

I – Errigal Mountain (Hop Strathspey) II – The Lakeside (Clipped Mazurka) III – Slipping Down Errigal (Slip Jig) IV – The Dunlewey Highland V – Cadenza VI – Tourish's Tour Around the Box (12-Tone Reel)