Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Of the night

for mixed sextet

Year:  2012   ·  Duration:  18m
Instrumentation:  flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, bass trombone, cello, double bass

Year:  2012
Duration:  18m
Instrumentation  flute, clarinet, bass clari...

Composer:   Louise Webster

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First page of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This work in six movements was written for the players of 175 East in 2012. I have tried to explore the timbral richness and possibilities of such an ensemble, using varied combinations of the instruments in the different movements.

The central ideas for the work derive from ‘night’ and the processes that take place in the night when we are usually asleep - connections with the unconscious and the unknown, dreams, childhood fears and mysteries, myriad creatures, lands and seas, moving beyond time and space. Some of the images were sparked by reading a poem by the 8th Century BC Spartan poet, Alkman.

Now sleep the mountain peaks and ravines, ridges and torrent streams
All creeping things that black night nourishes
Wild upland beasts and the race of bees
And monsters in the gulfs of the dark-gleaming sea;
Now sleep the tribes of long-winged birds.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by 175 East for performance in 'Figments' on 25th Nov 2012

Contents note

I. trio for flute, clarinet and bass clarinet II. sextet (all instruments) III. duo for bass trombone and double bass IV. solo for bass clarinet V. sextet VI. duo for flute and cello, with obligato parts for the other instruments

Performance history

25 Nov 2012: Performed by 175 East, at Q Theatre, Auckland, New Zealand.

06 Nov 2022: ACO presents Eight on the Radio