Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


No Other Heaven

for tenor and piano

Year:  1997   ·  Duration:  19m

Year:  1997
Duration:  19m

David Hamilton

Composer:   David Hamilton


In 1995 a volume of New Zealand love poetry was published under the title My Heart Goes Swimming. Instead of using one of the more conventional orderings of the poems, the editors arranged the poems chronologically according to when they believed the poets had written them. My selection of poems retained this organisation, although during composition of the cycle I substituted my original choice for the final poem with Robin Hyde's Road's End. The poets represented in the cycle are A.R.D. Fairburn, Mary Stanley, Brian Turner, Denis Glover and Robin Hyde.

This version was created in 2013 for The Committee's 'Shorts and Suites' concert.

Contents note

  1. When She Speaks
  2. Love By Candlelight
  3. Like Lamplight
  4. Brightness
  5. Road's End

Text note

Texts by A.R.D. Fairburn; Mary Stanley; Brian Turner; Denis Glover; and Robin Hyde