Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet No. 1 - The Enchanted Garden

for string quartet

Year:  2008   ·  Duration:  9m
Instrumentation:  2 violins, viola, cello

Year:  2008
Duration:  9m
Instrumentation  2 violins, viola, cello

Hugh Dixon

Composer:   Hugh Dixon


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This work can be likened to an 'essay in imagination' – perhaps the remembrance of being young, with other children, discovering a secret place. There is an element of mystery, tip-toeing, beautiful tress and flowers all around, birds and butterflies. Child-like, there are sudden bursts of excitement, scampering, and then sudden quietness while another discovery is made. Even otherworldly scenes of fairy dances which children in their innocence see. "Heaven lies about us in our infancy!" says the poet – but sadly this is lost. The scene fades away.

A favourite of the composer, this quartet was originally written for flute, violin, horn (optional viola) and cello, and performed by the LOCANA Quartet twice in Brisbane in 2003. It now has four forms: the original grouping; flute and string trio; string orchestra and, now this string quartet.