Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Mei, Lan, Zhu, Ju

for string quartet and piano

Year:  2008   ·  Duration:  25m
Instrumentation:  piano, two violins, viola and cello

Year:  2008
Duration:  25m
Instrumentation  piano, two violins, viola a...

Gao Ping

Composer:   Gao Ping

Films, Audio & Samples

Gao Ping discusses Mei, Lan...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Gao Ping: Mei, Lan, Zhu, Ju...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Gao Ping: Mei, Lan, Zhu, Ju...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Interview with Jack Body an...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


Piano Quintet Mei, Lan, Zhu, Ju was commissioned by the 2009 Christchurch International Arts Festival in New Zealand through funds provided by Creative New Zealand.

The extra-musical idea behind the piece is Mei, Lan, Zhu, and Ju, four plants that have significant symbolism in Chinese culture. Plum blossoms (Mei梅), orchids (Lan兰), bamboo (Zhu竹), and chrysanthemums (Ju菊), each represent a character of noble attributes, poetic temperament and moral strength within the context of ancient Chinese literati life. Their association with art and artists is well-known in China, and the four characters as a set is one of the most popular themes for calligraphy artists. Even today, a commonly seen decoration in a home or office is a 4-fold screen on which the images of the four plants are painted.

Each of the four movements is dedicated to these ideas. Though my music is hardly a literal depiction of the subjects, it nevertheless reflects my thoughts and feelings towards them.

Gao Ping

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Christchurch International Arts Festival 2009

Performance history

02 Aug 2009: T'ang Quartet and John Chen

03 Aug 2009: Abundant Lands

31 Oct 2009: Performed by John Chen (piano) and T'ang Quartet at D. Pedro V. Theatre, in Macau. Presented as part of the Macau International Music Festival.

05 Oct 2013: Journey to the East - Composer Portrait: Gao Ping

+ Read More