Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Suite in Three Movements

for piano

Year:  1998

Year:  1998

Composer:   Yvette Audain

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-2

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


These pieces were written in response to John Rimmer's lectures on the chromatic system, and new ways of navigating it. One influence was the 'tone clock' theory of Peter Schat. The first movement is based on an octatonic scale that I devised, and the second movement utilises a chord sequence that progresses from consonance to dissonance and back again, with the harmonies blurring slightly as the chords merge from one to the other, rather than jumping from chord to chord in a detached manner. The third movement has passacaglia-type qualities, combining melodies, counter-melodies, inversions, augmentations and diminutions. It uses the same scale as the first movement.

These pieces were premiered in 1999 by Auckland pianist Michael Bell, with whom I was awarded that year's Llewellyn Jones Prize in music for piano at Auckland University.

Contents note

Work written in three movements