Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
November 8, 2023 7:30PM • Pathways Presbyterian Church

Rachel Thomson, piano and Robert Ibell, cello


Two well-known Wellington-based musicians present a varied and dynamic programme of works for cello and piano spanning two hundred years.

Beginning our concert is Beethoven’s fifth and last sonata for piano and cello, a visionary and lyrical work from 1815 that signalled the beginning of the ‘late period’ in his output. This is followed by the magical Pohádka (Fairy Tale) by Czech composer Janáček. The first half closes with three exquisite short works by Schumann: his Fantasy Pieces Op 73.

After interval come four short and characterful pieces written in 2017 by Alex Taylor, an award-winning composer from Aotearoa. Two sonatas from the twentieth century complete the programme: Kodaly’s two movement Sonata for Cello & Piano Op 4, with its folk-influenced melodies and Debussyan harmonies is followed by Debussy's brief Sonata for Cello & Piano from 1915. This work, with its ecstatic outbursts and dark humour, is strongly influenced by commedia dell'arte. It provides an exciting and satisfying end to the concert.

Start time

November 8, 2023 7:30PM


Pathways Presbyterian Church
388 Church Street
Palmerston North Central
Palmerston North


General Admission: $34.05 each ($30.00 + $4.05 fees)
Concession: $23.25 each ($20.00 + $3.25 fees)
Student: $10.25 each ($10.00 + $0.25 fees)