Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
July 24, 2023 12:00PM—October 4, 2023 11:00PM •

Compose Aotearoa! | National Choral Composition Competition 2023


Compose Aotearoa! is a national initiative to stimulate the creation of new and diverse New Zealand music for choirs. Designed as an annual competition facilitated by the national body managing our four national choirs, Choirs Aotearoa New Zealand Trust, Compose Aotearoa! will be a rewarding pathway for young as well as established composers to produce new work. This is the fourth competition.

For over four decades our national choirs have benefitted from and contributed to the creation of new New Zealand choral works. With this competition we aim to encourage the development of choral writing in New Zealand and provide a high-quality performance opportunity for these works. We invite submissions for choral works suitable for performance by any one of the three choirs.

NEW: this year at least 6 of the entries will be workshopped by Voices NZ singers in Wellington on 5 November in Wellington. This will be a great chance for the composers to hear their work workshopped and sung by our premier national choir.

  1. Open category – prize $2,000
  2. Composers aged 25 years and under – prize $2,000
  3. Waiata Tira with substantial Te Reo Māori content (70%-100%) – prize $2,000

An additional prize valued at $1,000 will be awarded to a category winner in form of travel, per diems and other costs associated with the invitation to join one of the national choirs as Composer in Residence to progress the work for performance.

Category winners will become SOUNZ Composers. A SOUNZ composer has a profile page on which lists their works, commissions, performances, films/audio, etc. and provides worldwide visibility.

Click here for Competition Requirements and to submit your entry

Deadline for submission is 11.00pm October 4, 2023.

For any enquiries please contact Lee Martelli-Wood,

Start time

July 24, 2023 12:00PM

End time

October 4, 2023 11:00PM