Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
March 13, 2021 7:30PM • Douglas Lilburn Auditorium, Christchurch

Christchurch Symphony Orchestra | Tūrangawaewae


Michael Endres | piano
Kenneth Young | conductor


Philip Norman | new commission
Sergei Rachmaninov | Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Jean Sibelius | Symphony No. 1

To mark the ten-year anniversary of the February 2011 earthquakes, the CSO premieres a newly commissioned work by treasured Christchurch composer, Philip Norman.

Rachmaninov's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini pays homage to the extraordinary 19th century virtuosi violinist, Nicolo Paganini, through its own pianistic fireworks. The CSO is joined by celebrated pianist Michael Endres to perform this dazzling masterpiece.

Capturing the nationalistic fervour sweeping Finland at the time, Sibelius' Symphony No. 1 is a glorious example of late-romantic orchestral music. Opening with an evocative melody played by a lone clarinet, the symphony revels in soaring melodies contrasted with moments of epic grandeur.

Start time

March 13, 2021 7:30PM


Douglas Lilburn Auditorium, Christchurch