Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
October 3, 2020 7:30PM • Douglas Lilburn Auditorium, Christchurch

Christchurch Symphony Orchestra | Houstoun Plays Brahms


Benjamin Northey | chief conductor
Michael Houstoun | piano
Anthony Ferner | flute

Claude Debussy | Lindaraja (arr. Bill Hopkins) *
Felix Mendelssohn | Symphony No 4 “Italian”
Francis Poulenc | Cantilena for Flute (arr. Chris Cree Brown)
Johannes Brahms | Concerto No. 1 for Piano

* NZ premiere

Mendelssohn’s fourth symphony is bursting with exuberance and youthful energy. Inspired by his travels around Italy, it is characterised by bright, sunny melodies and an uplifting freshness.

Also featuring in this programme are two exquisite miniatures, Debussy’s Lindaraja, originally composed for two pianos, and Poulenc’s Cantilena both re-imagined in sensitive arrangements for orchestra.

New Zealand’s foremost pianist, Michael Houstoun, joins the CSO to perform Brahms' magnificent first piano concerto in his final performance with the CSO as he farewells the concert platform.

Start time

October 3, 2020 7:30PM


Douglas Lilburn Auditorium, Christchurch