Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
June 26, 2011 2:00PM • Ilott Theatre

Intimate Voices - Felix the Quartet


John Psathas - A Cool Wind
Beethoven - String Quartet in F Opus 59 No 1
Sibelius - String Quartet in D minor 'Voces Intimae' (Intimate Voices)

The quartet's Finnish and New Zealand heritage is reflected in this beautiful programme.

John Psathas's A Cool Wind was commissioned by CMNZ in 2008 for the Takács Quartet's New Zealand tour. They enjoyed the piece so much that they are still touring it in the United States!

Beethoven's Op 59 No 1 belongs to one of the six string quartets dedicated to Count Rasumovsky, the Russian Ambassador to Vienna. Beethoven is said to have responded to a critic of the work: “Oh, they are not for you, but for another age.”

Sibelius wrote his String Quartet in D minor in 1909, which is considered his finest chamber music work. Sub-titled Voces Intimae (Intimate Voices), the work consists of five movements that are dark, earthy, and brooding.

Start time

June 26, 2011 2:00PM


Ilott Theatre


Adult: $40
Under 26 years (with id): $10
Tickets available from "Ticketek":