Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Number 7

for mixed sextet

Year:  2015   ·  Duration:  4m
Instrumentation:  for piccolo, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola and cello

Year:  2015
Duration:  4m
Instrumentation  for piccolo, oboe, clarinet...

Composer:   Louise Webster

Films, Audio & Samples

Louise Webster: Number 7; v...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-3

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Programme note

In this work I draw on the spaciousness and the counterpoint dialogue between voices in Lilburn's seventh piano piece. Dissonant fragments of his juxtaposed chords, shrill woodwind voices and a 'hurdy-gurdy' figure pervade the new work. What would he think of my birthday offering? I'm not sure!


Commissioned note

The seventh of nine pieces composed by nine NZ composers in response to 'Nine Short Pieces for Piano' by Douglas Lilburn. 'Nine Echoes' was commissioned and performed by Stroma to celebrate the centenary of Lilburn's birth.

Difficulty note

professional and good non-professional players

Performance history

02 Dec 2015: Performed by Stroma, conducted by Hamish McKeich, at Sacred Heart Cathedral, Wellington, New Zealand.