Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Canzona per sonare: Degraded Echoes

for recorder (Ganassi soprano) and string quartet

Year:  2013   ·  Duration:  6m

Year:  2013
Duration:  6m

Composer:   Philip Brownlee

Films, Audio & Samples

Philip Brownlee: Canzona pe...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Philip Brownlee: Canzona pe...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Upbeat interview with Micha...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 1-4

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Programme note

Much of the music is derived from a motet by Giovanni Gabrieli: Dominus Deus Meus à 6, C127. This material is dispersed, like grains of sand carried by the wind, strewn at varying distances from their origin. For most of the piece, the instrumental parts do not share a metrical grid, but are adrift in a semi-improvised rhythmic space. The music attempts to balance its focus between the persistent harmonic traces of the motet, and a foreground made up of the grainy physical details of the instrumental sounds.

+ Read More

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Stroma, with funding from Creative New Zealand

Creative New Zealand

Performance history