Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

маўчанне – the silence

for string quartet

Year:  2011   ·  Duration:  5m
Instrumentation:  violin 1, violin 2, viola and cello

Year:  2011
Duration:  5m
Instrumentation  violin 1, violin 2, viola a...

Samuel Gray

Composer:   Samuel Gray

Films, Audio & Samples

Samuel Gray: маўчанне – the...

Internal video
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 1'54'' - 3'43''

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Just a few kilometres away from the Lithuanian township of Druskininkai, where this piece was first performed, lies the border with Belarus, the last European dictatorship. The Belarusian leader Alexander Lukashenko is infamous for his despotic treatment of dissidents, political opponents and journalists.

маўчанне - the silence highlights the lack of freedom of speech, freedom of opinion and free elections in Belarus, although the critique equally applies to any despotic régime worldwide.

Difficulty note

intermediate to advanced

Performance history

29 May 2011: Performed by the NHM Quartet - Ida Sundell (violin), Ragnhild Lien (violin), Damon Taheri (viola) and Nina Dolgintseva (cello) at Hotel Regina, in Druskininkai, Lithuania

Performed by the NMH Quartet - Ida Sundell (violin), Ragnhild Lien (violin), Damon Taheri (viola) and Nina Dolgintseva (cello)

+ Read More