Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work


for string quartet

Year:  2009   ·  Duration:  20m
Instrumentation:  violin 1, violin 2, viola and cello

Year:  2009
Duration:  20m
Instrumentation  violin 1, violin 2, viola a...

Composer:   Michael Norris

Films, Audio & Samples

Upbeat review by Philip Bro...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00" - 1'00" I. Quidlivun

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 - 3

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Programme note

The human brain is capable of remarkable feats of understanding and analysis, yet has trouble simply imagining its own death. Death is our blind spot — we cannot conceive of an end to our perceptions and experiences, so we are forced to invent stories about what we will experience after we die.

As a result, human culture overflows with afterworld narratives, and in some cases these have become rich in specific details, textures and landscapes: afterworlds may be light, dark, watery, icy, misty, subterranean, found in the clouds, in the earth, in the sun, in the moon; they may be places of peace and redemption, or places of violence and damnation.

Michael Norris

+ Read More

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the New Zealand String Quartet

Performance history

23 Jan 2009: Gala Opening

21 Jun 2009: NZSQ June 2009

01 Nov 2009: Concert 1: Multicultural NZ

13 Nov 2009: NZSQ: ... Cultural Property

30 Mar 2012: Death and the Maiden: New Zealand String Quartet

Performed by New Zealand String Quartet

Performed by the New Zealand String Quartet at Adam Concert Room, Victoria University, Wellington, in November, 2009