Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Symphony No. 1

for symphony orchestra

Year:  2005 Instrumentation:  3*3*33*; 4331; timp., bass drum, sus. cymbal, xylophone, harp; strings

Year:  2005
Instrumentation  3*3*33*; 4331; timp., bass ...

Ross Harris

Composer:   Ross Harris

Films, Audio & Samples

Ross Harris: Symphony no 1;...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Once upon a time (in the twentieth century) symphonies were considered 'old hat'. Today, on the other side of the modernist revolution, the form offers new challenges. This symphony takes as its starting point the fragmentation and ironic humour of Mahler and Shostakovich. Using a language that integrates a huge range of stylistic references this music unfolds with flashes of orchestral colour.

First Movement: This movement is full of drama and sudden changes. In keeping with symphonic tradition the opening bars contain the seeds of all its subsequent adventures.

Second Movement: This slow movement is the centrepiece of the work. Its spaciousness and relative calm is in strong contrast to the energetic outer movements. The woodwinds and brass solos unravel a long melodic line.

Third Movement: The third movement is a wild scherzo - its grotesque humour makes it something of a Pandora's box! The form makes a gesture towards traditional sonata rondo form by the musical ideas flash by at an almost alarming rate.

  • Ross Harris

Commissioned note

Written during Harris's Composer-in-Residence with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra (2005)

Contents note

Three movements

Performance history

25 Aug 2005: Performed by Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and conducted by Steven Smith