Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

The Clio Legacy

for woman narrator, mezzo, SSA choir and Maori womens' choruses and orchestra

Year:  1991   ·  Duration:  55m
Instrumentation:  Orch: horn, piano, percussion, timpani, strings

Year:  1991
Duration:  55m
Instrumentation  Orch: horn, piano, percussi...

Films, Audio & Samples

Dorothy Buchanan: The Clio ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pp 1-5

See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Commissioned note

Commissioned by Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council (now Creative New Zealand) with assistance from 1993 Suffrage Centennial Year Trust

Dedication note

To all who strive for peace

Contents note

Subtitle: Five Antipodean Women. Five movements: Sarah Jane Wilcox (1818-1861); Te Turitumanareti (1848- 5 January 1869); Edythe Mabel Robertson (1861-1923); Margaret Joy Tilsley (1917-1978); Raewyn Janice WIlliams (1960-)

Text note

Text: Witi Ihimaera

Performance history

07 Aug 1993: Performed by the Wellington Regional Orchestra (now Vector Wellington Orchestra) conducted by Sue Robinson with Kapa haka wahine directed by Keri Kaa, Maiden Tawa, Margaret Medlyn (mezzo), Ed Allen (horn) Charlotte Murray and Tungia Baker (narrators) at the Composing Women's Festival in Wellington Town Hall

+ Read More