Sub Navigation


SOUNZ Contemporary Award

  • Awarded: 2009

Award Information

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award, which was established in 1998, is a project of APRA, Australasian Performing Right Association and SOUNZ.

Composers who are members of APRA are annually invited to enter up to two works which have been premiered in the previous year. Pieces may have been premiered publicly, recorded for radio broadcast or by a recognised recording label for distribution, or performed by a professional orchestra in a professional development situation. SOUNZ may in its absolute discretion accept an entry outside the eligibility period because of special circumstances. For example when a composition is completed and professionally recorded but not made available for reasons beyond the composer’s control this may qualify as a special circumstance.

The works can be for solo, chamber, ensemble, choral, opera, orchestral, electro-acoustic or any combination of these.

SOUNZ Centre for NZ Music convenes a jury to select three finalists whose entry shows outstanding compositional excellence and inspiration.

The award, consisting of a trophy and cash prize (currently $3,000), is presented each year at the APRA Silver Scroll awards ceremony. The trophy for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award has been designed and made by Auckland sculptor Sarah Smuts Kennedy and depicts a bronze fern frond mounted on a shaped oak and ebony base.


Award Details

Symphony No. 3 was the winner of the 2009 SOUNZ Contemporary Award.


Shopping Cart